As A Junior Interpreter

I did last two days of press conference interpretation for The 21st Summer Deaflympics on Monday and Tuesday. It’s such a new experience to work with international sign language interpreters. Interpret for them and deaf athletes is so different, but as fun.

As a junior interpreter, I cherish every chance I’ve got to help others with my interpretation skills, although sometimes the compensation is almost like doing charity. My thoughts about the market and the industry are also evolving during the process.

It feels good when seeing sign interpreters smile in relief. It feels great when everyone understand the messages. It feels wonderful when people appreciate your works because they really need you, not because the agent can’t find anyone for the unwanted job.

As a junior interpreter, it is common to observe all kinds of weird things, but I should save it when I am senior one day. ha

Leave a Reply

