My Life in 2008

At this time of the year, I bet many of you have already read a lot of reflections on many blogs. But sorry, I still want to do mine.

This year I have three travels abroad, all unplanned at the beginning. Experiences in Hungary, Japan and South Korea all broaden my horizons, and they all change my life in some ways. After Budapest, I am more involved in Global Voices than before, both in mind and in workloads. The in-person connection is a reassurance to me. These authors, managers and translators are no longer just names or email addresses. Old-fashioned as I am, physical contacts are still more substantial to me than cyber or virtual networks, although I am working in this huge virtual organization. Coming back from Budapest, Portnoy said he might give away his opportunity to the next GV Summit. I can’t. I need renewal.

panda souvenirs on our head (Hong Kong) People and connections are more crucial than everything in this world, as this year teaches me this lesson. Without connections, you won’t get your initial job opportunities, no matter how good you are.

In 2008 in GV, I have the confidence to say I work hard, even very hard. Starting as a happy, innocent translator in GV Chinese, I took over managerial/editorial position in early 2007 as Portnoy, the founding father of GV Lingua translation project, temporarily left for 1-year compulsory military service. I had assumed I would return his throne when he came back, but it turned out not the case. Sharing GV Lingua directorial works with him while still being GV Chinese editor since midyear, I have the chance to witness many developments in GV. If this process is a trap of quicksand, I am surely indulged in it.

Just for the personal record:

Number of Translation in Global Voices

Year

Posts

Roundups

2007

174

43

2008

432

58

I have kept my complete translation list for review.

I clearly understand quantity doesn’t equal to quality, especially in the field of translation. However, if the number has any significance, it just proves I work long hours with GV in the past year, hopefully with some positive results.

I did have a lot to complain in my life at some points, but when I read lots of stories with tremendous challenges and difficulties, natural or man-made, on GV or other news sources, my complaints mostly become too trivial to even be mentioned on my blog.

To sum up for 2008, I recall the first line from James Blunt’s You’re Beautiful:

My life is brilliant. My love is pure.

Hope it will stay the same in 2009. I believe my life will be beautiful.

8 responses to “My Life in 2008

  1. Good quote! And I am happy to see it matches your current life! Keep it up!:)

  2. It’s really very amazing!
    By the way, I feel the same about the in-person connection. I did work harder after the conference, but not as hard as you ^^
    Happy New Year 2009!

  3. Here’s to all of us having beautiful lives in 2009!

    I need renewal too 🙂

  4. Renew for me!
    (I might be on a horse back then)

  5. It was great seeing you in Tokyo this summer! Keep up the great translations, I don’t know how you manage to do so much, it’s amazing.

  6. Happy new year to you all. It’s great to know and hang out with you all. If we haven’t met yet, we will soon. If we have met before, hopefully we will meet again soon. 🙂

  7. I should say sorry and thank you for Leo, since he took most of the task of GV Chinese in 2008.

    I’d like to say it is so lucky and honer to have you into GV 🙂

  8. PipperL, don’t be sorry at all. Our works are always complementary. I’ll need you to cover me as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

