Not Lost in Tokyo

Because of iSummit 2008, I come to Tokyo to visit Hana and Chris (or the other way around) yesterday, which not only is my birthday, but also happens to be the “eel day” in Japan. The date changes every year according to the lunar calendar. Although we didn’t have eel last night (who says we have to follow the customs? 😛 ), we did have a great dinner.

Chris secretly arranges a birthday ice cream tower for me (see Hana’s Flickr). It is totally unexpected to both Hana and me. When the restaurant turns down the light and projects “Happy Birthday!” on the wall, Hana and I are both wondering: “Someone else shares the birthday with me…” That’s why we are very surprised when the ice cream tower is presented to me, while Chris is obviously enjoying his secret planning and results. Everyone in the restaurant sings the birthday song for me. I am really touched to receive this warm welcome. Chris is a good surprise planner, and we would need him in the next GV summit. hehe

Hana and Chris also lend me one of their bikes (pics later), so I can see around. I really wanted to try cycling in other cities. It didn’t happen in Budapest, but it comes true in Tokyo. This is so far a wonderful experience. I am not lost in Tokyo. Let’s see if this stays true after a couple of days.

Also, thanks to everyone who has left a message either on Flickr or our GV google group. I am so glad to be a part of this community.

3 responses to “Not Lost in Tokyo

  1. Have fun! And try the eel 😉

  2. Chris is such a prankster :). Enjoy your time over there with the crew.

  3. Happy belated birthday!! sorry i missed it 😦
    Hugs,
    -Juliana.

Leave a Reply

